SMILE – A Little Big Word

I am just a girl. Or should I say a woman, all grown up after living on this planet for more than 30 years. Like everybody else, I have been through a lot too.  May be, my grey days have been a little less here and a little more than others there. But, there is no way of escaping the wrath of ‘fate’. It may come to us in all forms, shapes and sizes.  During those bad times, I wondered if there is anything at all that I can do to escape the perpetual feeling of being sad. I made an attempt to overcome and others helped me to get out of it. How? With the help of a little and yet a very important gesture called ‘SMILE.’

DSC_1484

Smile at a stranger

When someone held out a hand or just smiled while passing by – I felt HAPPY, in those times of distress. I still do. I remember so many incidents from the days of my work as a tour leader of a large group, traveling in foreign lands not knowing people to fall back on. Every time on those long journeys, I genuinely felt the importance of the word, smile. There were those times when my back hurt or the expectations of my guests were blown too much out of proportion or I simply missed home terribly. Just then, suddenly, out of nowhere, unexpectedly, a stranger would come to me, smiling broadly, asking excitedly – if she can click a photo with me!!  A chord was struck instantly. I felt alive again – sitting with her, posing for a photo.

DSC_2178

Taking photo with a stranger

There was another incident, when I could not get up on to the upper bunk. It was in a soft sleeper coach of a train, on my way from Xian to Beijing in China. My muscles gave away and I was too tired to move. I needed some sleep desperately. But I just could not manage to climb up! At that very moment, like an angel in the darkest hour, a Chinese girl, sitting on the upper bunk opposite mine, understood my problem. She convinced one of her family members to take the upper bunk, so I could sleep in the lower. Her smile that night, on a moving train, in the middle of no-where, soothed me and lulled me to sleep. The next morning, still on the train, her family offered breakfast to me. It didn’t matter that none of us understood what we said. There was the unspoken language of smile and selflessness that linked us. Just when we were finally parting ways, she came running to me on the platform, to bid me a smiling goodbye.

DSCN1993

My smiling friends

These have been just two of such many moments, when I realized, more than any other time that there is nothing as beautiful as a smile. It can light up the darkest moments in a person’s life. It should not matter whether others are smiling back at us … all that should matter is that we are always smiling at others. A smile can melt the hardest hearts, heal the deepest wounds. We should always try to carry the lamp of happiness within and keep its warm flame burning. As we are wrapped in the soft glow of giving, in the form of a smile or a little love or a helping hand or anything else, soon we will see, there are many bright lights around… smiling back at us.

Share your experiences with me too. I would love to know how we are all connected through smiles!

Leave a Reply

